top of page
Writer's pictureKat

Time to talk about toilets

Updated: May 1, 2019

Why on earth would anyone review toilets? What kind of person does that? Hello and welcome to Hey Soul Cistern

Four full glasses of water stand on a wooden bench. it is a close up of the four glasses.

Loo, bog, wee palace. Whatever you want to call the toilets, everyone uses them. And yet sometimes they seem to be an afterthought in so many places.


I’ve been reviewing toilets to my friends for years, in terms of aesthetic, ease of use and just being able to find the damn things. My girlfriend says I have a toilet radar - if you need to know where the nearest ones are, 90% of the time I already know and the other 10% I can have a really good guess. It’s a useful superpower, though I don’t think Marvel will give me a franchise any time soon.


When it comes to toilets, there are basic requirements, like can I find them, is there toilet paper, does the door lock. And then there are questions of luxury, like does the aesthetic of the restaurant carry through to toilets, is the lighting selfie perfect, and what kind of hand drying apparatus do they have. And then there’s thousands more that buzz round my brain when I’m in a cubicle.


I have so many opinions on what should be in a cubicle, and at some point my friends are going to get bored of me telling them why they should visit the bathroom even if they don’t need to, because ‘the wallpaper matches the restaurant, you guys - it’s so good’. And so I come to you, dear internet, to talk about the different kinds of toilet roll dispenser and whether a hook can still be considered a hook if it’s at attached at such an angle your coat slides right off.


As an able bodied woman, I can only review the toilets I use, but I’ll be flagging accessibility to them. I’ll also mark if there is a designated disabled toilet, and if you need a radar key. After all, it doesn’t matter how great your toilets are, if people can’t use them.


So hopefully this blog’ll be helpful as well as entertaining. I hope you’re ready for deep dives on the best and worst toilets I’ve ever used, why width of cubicle matters and why, for the love of god, don’t restaurants keep their aesthetic going in the toilets.


 
20 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page